The Local Government Secretariat

The Secretariat to the Commission prepares submissions for the consideration of the Commission based on proposals of the Municipal Corporations in relation to administrative and disciplinary matters. Retiring benefits submissions from the Ministry of Finance and the Public Service are also presented to the Commission. The recommendations of the Commission are conveyed to the Municipal Corporations for acceptance.


The Secretariat to the Commission consists of ten (10) posts as listed hereunder:

  • Secretary, Local Government Services Commission
  • Assistant Secretary
  • Senior HR Auditor
  • HR Auditor
  • Executive Secretary 1
  • Administration (2 posts)
  • Secretary 2
  • Records Officer 2
  • Records Officer 1

The Commission with the assistance of the Secretariat ensure that sound human resource practices are carried out in the Municipal Corporations.